WINNIPEG, MB – RINK Hockey Academy is thrilled to extend our heartfelt congratulations to our exceptional athletes, coaching staff, and support staff who have secured their spots on U16 Male Team Manitoba for the prestigious 2023 WHL Cup. This remarkable achievement speaks volumes about their dedication and talent.

The selections for the Team Manitoba roster is a result of rigorous evaluation during the Hockey Manitoba Program of Excellence Summer Development Camps in Winnipeg this past July. Our athletes not only participated in intensive training and practices but also engaged in team-building activities and inter-squad exhibition games. These experiences were meticulously scrutinized by the program coaching staff, culminating in the final roster decisions.

Male U16 Team Manitoba Athletes Selected:

  • Peyton Shore
  • Kaden Allen
  • Daxon Yerex
  • Koy Funk 
  • Carter Haney
  • Aiden Jacobson
  • Zach Lansard
  • Layne Schofield

We are particularly proud to have eight of our remarkable athletes named to the Male U16 Team Manitoba roster. This team comprises two goaltenders, six defencemen, and twelve forwards, all of whom have demonstrated their commitment to excellence in the sport. The Male U16 Team Manitoba will be competing in the 2023 WHL Cup, scheduled from October 17 to 22, in the Peavey Mart Centrium, the illustrious home of the WHL’s Red Deer Rebels. This tournament will feature the very best 2008-born players from British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and, of course, Manitoba. They will engage in a round-robin tournament followed by thrilling playoffs.

For the complete Male U16 Team Manitoba roster, please visit the following link: MALE U16 TEAM MANITOBA ROSTER

Male U16 Team Manitoba Coaching Staff:

Guiding the U16 Team Manitoba to success is Head Coach Alex Mandolidis, who also currently holds the position of Head Coach and General Manager of the Winnipeg Blues in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League. This marks Mandolidis' first time serving as the Head Coach of U16 Team Manitoba, and he brings with him over 14 years of coaching and development experience. Before joining the Winnipeg Blues, Mandolidis spent three seasons as an assistant coach with the Men's Mount Royal University program in USports.

Mandolidis will be supported by assistant coaches Curtis Brolund (Virden Oil Capitals) and Jeff Borse (RHA Winnipeg U17). Overseeing operations for the Male U16 Program of Excellence is Bernie Reichardt (Hockey Manitoba), who impressively returns for his 26th year. The dedicated staff also includes goalie consultant Byron Spriggs, athletic therapist Brenna Cyr (a returning member from last year’s Male U16 Team Manitoba), video coordinator Nick Holben, and equipment manager Matthew Relf (RHA).

Team Manitoba will commence their 2023 WHL Cup campaign with an electrifying match against Team Alberta on Wednesday, October 18th.

You can find Team Manitoba's full schedule below:

October 18: Manitoba at Alberta, 5:15 pm CT
October 19: British Columbia at Manitoba, 5:15 pm CT
October 20: Manitoba at Saskatchewan, 5:15 pm CT
October 21: Semifinal 1 – Third Place vs Second Place, 11:15 am CT
October 21: Semifinal 2 – Fourth Place vs First Place, 2:00 pm CT
October 22: Bronze Medal Game, 11:15 am CT
October 22: Gold Medal Game, 2:00 pm CT

The Male Under-16 Program of Excellence serves as a pivotal stepping stone within the Hockey Canada Male Program of Excellence. It equips athletes with the fundamental skills and concepts vital for success at the Major Junior, NCAA, USport, and National levels. Many U16 Program of Excellence alumni have gone on to achieve significant milestones with the U17, U18, and World Junior Teams as part of the Hockey Canada Program of Excellence.

We at RINK Hockey Academy are immensely proud of our athletes' achievements and wish them the best of luck as they represent Team Manitoba in the upcoming tournaments. Their dedication, hard work, and passion for the game have truly paid off, and we can't wait to see them shine on the national stage. Congratulations to our eight athletes and two members of the coaching and support staff for this remarkable accomplishment!